The Productivity Challenge – Simplified

cymera_20161103_195003
I know it’s not a great photo, but I wanted to share my NaNo Pomodoro tracker with you.

Let’s Get Focused!

Build mental strength, boost concentration, and improve your ability to work efficiently with this fun challenge from Get Fearless!

What is NaNo Pomodoro?

NaNo Pomodoro, or The Productivity Challenge is a simple challenge that works with your life instead of taking time away from it. It forces you to cut out distractions and work on what is most important to you.

I created NaNo Pomodoro when I realized that NaNoWriMo, or National Novel Writing Month, was approaching and I knew that I just didn’t have the time to work on a novel. I was too busy working on client projects, NrdFeed editing, and my new mousery, Kailee and Kisses. However, I was also working to improve my ability to completely focus on what I’m doing, giving projects my full attention. So, I decided to turn my daily focusing practice into a challenge, naming it NaNo Pomodoro, after NaNoWrimo of course. When I shared the challenge with a few of my friends, I realized that others might benefit from it as well. So, I’m sharing it with the world.

How it works:

Choose a daily goal. You could do a single focused session a day to build the habit or try to do 5 or even ten sessions a day (ten session is only about 5 hours of work. Most jobs require a bit more time than that.

Multiply your daily goal by 30 to get your monthly goal.

Mark your goal on your calendar, along with your start and finish date. I started on the 1st of November, to coincide with NaNoWriMo, but you can start whenever you like.

Find a timer. Kitchen timers are great for this, but the timer on your phone can work as well. Just make sure that you can still hear it with your phone on silent.

Turn off anything that might distract you during your session. Put your phone on silent and close your facebook tab on your computer.

Choose a specific task or batch of similar tasks. Decide how much you’d like to get done in the next half hour. You could:

*Outline a paper or article
*Write a certain number of words
*Answer all of your emails
*Write a chapter on your NaNoWriMo novel
*Complete a portion of a project for work
*Make a certain number of phone calls
etc.

Set your timer for 25 minutes.

Work until the timer goes off.

When the timer goes off, stop what you are doing completely. Take a short break. 5-10 minutes should do it. Then start the next session.

Don’t forget to mark you progress on a calendar or piece of paper!

 

 

nano-pomodoro-challenge
Share this image on social media with the hashtag #NaNoPomodoro

 

Share this post so your friends can join in the fun! And let me know how it goes for you. I know that this process really gives my productivity a boost, whether I’m writing something for a client, working on a personal project (like this post), or cleaning the house. What will you use it for?

 

Leave a Reply

