Of Internships and Other Things

brinna - 2 blog

The last few weeks have been absolutely crazy.

I’ve been making some big changes in my life and work and I couldn’t be more excited about it all. I have more client work than I’ve ever had before and I’m keeping up with all of it. Though I have one big client project coming to an end, I have no doubt I’ll be able to fill the space with new clients and new projects. That is, if the client doesn’t have another project directly after this one. I’m also getting more freelance writing work that I actually enjoy. I’m happy enough writing product descriptions for dog treats, if that’s what it takes, but I’d rather be working on something I love.

Speaking of which, I have big news!

I recently started an internship with the multi-author blog, NrdFeed. Right now I’m still in the trial phase, but I’m keeping up with the work, as well as coming up with new ideas for my own posts. I’m fairly confident they’ll keep me around.

nrdfeed

If you’ve never heard of NrdFeed, it’s a blog and social network dedicated to nerd entertainment. Comic books, sci-fi series, movies, and more; there’s something for every nerdy girl or guy. There are blog posts, of course, but there are also fandom fights where users vote on their favorite characters, cosplay features, memes, and more.

I absolutely love it and I love being a part of it. I didn’t realize how much I missed being part of a team till I started working with the guys at NrdFeed. I work from home and I’ve always been a bit of a loner when it comes to how I work. To be honest, I think most of that was not liking having someone looking over my shoulder or micro-managing me. I prefer to be creative and figure things out on my own. Of course, I have no problem being given instructions or told how to do something. I wouldn’t be a very good freelancer if I couldn’t follow instructions. I just prefer to decide where and how I work. And that’s one of the great thing about this internship: They’re letting me work from home!

brinna nrdfeed

I love everything about this new gig. I love helping writers to improve their work and build stronger writing skills. I love coming up with new article ideas and pitching them to my editor. I love creating tools to help both writers and editors and talking to the editors about them. I love it so much that I don’t even care that I’m not being paid for it. It’s an amazing experience and it’ll look great on a resume. Right now, that’s more than enough.

Also, seeing NrdFeed grow and actually getting to be part of that growth has made me even more motivated to get my own blog off the ground. I’ve been going through my Evernote notebooks and sorting half finished blog posts, post ideas, and other bloggy bits into a new notebook stack. Over the next few year, I hope to turn the 65 half-written notes in my “Blog Posts” folder into actual blog posts and get them published, along with a number of brand new, haven’t even thought of them yet posts.

Of course, I’ll have to do all of that between client projects, editing for NrdFeed, and getting my local SCA group’s website up and running. It’s a lot of work and a bit scary. But hey, isn’t that kind of the point?

What big, scary, challenging things are you up to?

Let me know in the comments. 🙂

One thought on “Of Internships and Other Things

Leave a Reply

